OnceInaLifetimeHoliday.com-Scam?? Please help!


Won a free holiday? Suspicious? This is the place for you!

Postby davvo on Sat Jul 26, 2008 20:23 pm

you got it !!.
User avatar
davvo
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 19:01 pm
Location: sheffield

Postby kaybel on Sun Aug 03, 2008 11:54 am

My husband was cold called by this company, they said we won a £4000 14-day holiday in Florida, Orlando, Mexico etc because we had used our Visa/Mastercard. All we had to pay was £369 for taxes when we booked. He gave them our credit card details as it sounded like a great deal, and it seems they have already helped themselves to the money! The company that took the money is Artox, which checking their website, http://www.artoxholdings.com/villa/terms.html, they have the same physical address as onceinalifetimeholiday.com. On checking this website, the 'Travel Packages' page doesnt work, and they talk about a 'Vacation Packs' page, which doesn't exist. I have blocked my card now, and the fraud section are investigating. Strange thing is that my husband didn't give them the security number on the back (he doesnt use the card enough to know what a security number even is!), so not sure how they took the money. Big scam! Don't do it!!
kaybel
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 11:54 am

Postby Alice45 on Mon Aug 04, 2008 02:11 am

I have actually traveled through this company before an had a great time with my family.
Alice45
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 02:11 am

Postby Alice45 on Mon Aug 04, 2008 02:16 am

After digging deeper i discovered that this company actually has direct contracts with the hotels and resorts it promotes.

I found out by calling the resorts directly and asking them if they knew of the company. They said the company reguarly sends down many families.

After finding this out I felt much better that this was not a scam.
Alice45
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 02:11 am

Postby purpletrace2 on Mon Aug 04, 2008 02:28 am

Purpletrace2 4/8/08
I had a call this morning telling me I'd won a wonderful holiday for Free! I've had several similar letters in the post saying I'd won money but had to pay money to register prize. This time I was told I'd just have to pay $599 tax. Anyway I was having trouble understanding what they were saying and a different man came on the phone. It was a bit suss because there were some details that I got from them which were different as is in they didn't give me all matching info.
Because I was having trouble understanding I asked if it could be posted but he gave me the website instead. www.onceinalifetimeholiday.com When I looked this up the address was there a second time with Scam on it so I was very suspicious now.
I asked who was paying the phone call and he assured me they were however I'm just hoping that's correct as my flatmate answered the call and said I had to press 1 to accept this holiday so I won't be happy if I get the bill for the call.
Anyway he then was telling me he needed my Visa/Mastercard no for verification. I Questioned this as he had my details already such as name, address, phone number and it didn't seem right. I was told that He still needed the card no for verification or I couldn't have the so called Free Holiday. I was already sceptical and now I was pretty sure it was a Scam so I refused and the call was ended. I'm glad I went with my instincts and didn't give my number knowing full well that it could cost me big time even though he told me no one could take my money. They will try and get you to belive anything if it means money to them!
I'm sick and tired of them Scammers trying to get money off me!! Is there no way to stop them??
purpletrace2
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 02:28 am

Postby draffie123 on Mon Aug 04, 2008 02:47 am

I received a call from an indian sounding lady from onceinalifetimeholiday.com saying that I have won a 14 day trip to Cancun I could take in the next 12 months. She insisted that I answer some questions like, whether I was single or married, whether I had any children (questions which can be construed as discriminatory and I refused to answer).

She then proceeded to read a script about these fabulous beaches and stumbled across a few words. Feeling a little bit wary, I asked her to repeat the name of the company and she gave me the website. I did a quick google search and found this forum (all scam alerts are going off now)!!

She then asked me to confirm my name - which she had difficulty spelling. But she already knew my address - I found that rather strange. And then she proceeded to ask me to get my m'card or visa card to confirm details. I told her that was of no importance if I had won a trip - there's no need to use my credit card details.

And she proceeded to say this is standard procedure to ensure that I would be guaranteed my holiday. So she started asking me for my credit card expiry date which i dutily gave her and then she proceeded to ask my 'membership' number or should I say credit card number. I refused. She got rather agitated. And I told her I had to be sure that it wasn't a scam and that I wanted to browse the internet, she said that's fine and she was on the computer too and she could go through the website with me.

I told her that I didn't want her rattling in my ear while I checked their website. By this time she sounded desperate, saying that I wouldn't have to give the security number on the back - and it's only when I give the security number on the back that I would commit to some form of payment and that all she wanted was my 'membership number' on my credit card and she would then confirm my reward.

I requested again that I'd browse the website and she can call me back. She insisted she sat on the phone while I browse and I said that wasn't convenient and that she had a good day and hung up.

But should I have given it to her - then what? What do I get? How do I claim this "holiday package"? Was I to book a ticket to Mexico to find that it was a scam (no thank you). Having browsed the 'terms and conditions' on their website - it is poorly written. As an admitted attorney, the terms and conditions bear no legal value.

Think what you will, but I believe it is a scam and thought I'd give my 2cents worth!
draffie123
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 02:47 am

Postby draffie123 on Mon Aug 04, 2008 03:01 am

Alice45 - I have actually traveled through this company before an had a great time with my family.

Alice45- After digging deeper i discovered that this company actually has direct contracts with the hotels and resorts it promotes.

I found out by calling the resorts directly and asking them if they knew of the company. They said the company reguarly sends down many families. After finding this out I felt much better that this was not a scam.

__________________________________________________

Oh Alice Alice, PTP Orlando sound familiar to you? If you already had a great time with your family, then why would you dig deeper again?

Tsk, tsk how do you sleep at night?
draffie123
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 02:47 am

Postby Eashwa on Mon Aug 04, 2008 06:25 am

I just had a phone call from onceinalifetime holiday congratulating me on winning a holiday pack for 4. A lady spoke to me first and then a gentleman spoke to me and asked for my date of birth. I asked him why he needs it and he said he has to confirm all the detail, so I got his phone number to ring back and landed on this site. I am not so sure I can put his details name and phone number) here. The number he gave me is not on their web site. I am thinking of providing his details to FBI to investicate. Hope Alice will read this.
Eashwa
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 06:08 am

Postby Fred 2 on Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:56 am

MODS - Alice 45 is clearly a fake, but it would be nice to know if it is the UK or USA side which posted it.
Fred 2
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 17:13 pm

Postby swong on Mon Aug 04, 2008 19:02 pm

I have just recieved a phone call from onceinalifetimeholidays telling me I have won a holiday for 4 all inclusive and would only have to pay a total of £397, I am not sure what to make of it as they tried getting my credit card details. I gave them my name, D.O.B and the expiry date of my card, my suspicions rose when they asked for my security code of the back, I would'nt give them it or any other numbers of my card am I right in thinking this is a scam and can they get money of my card with the few details they have. the date is 4/8/08
swong
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 19:02 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Timeshare & Holiday Clubs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests