OnceInaLifetimeHoliday.com-Scam?? Please help!
It is a scam. They cannot take anything if all they have is the expiry date - and your name/ dob.
- Fred 2
- Posts: 316
- Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 17:13 pm
Hi all,
i just wasted 35 minutes on the telephone to onceinalifetimeholidays.com. I stupidly gave my credit card details (but not the security code) after they said they only had the details for the former owner of the house. I gave my D.O.B, card number, expiry date and address. They put the call through to 3 different people to verify my account details, one of which was apparently a 'legal verification dept' unassociated with them, to ensure it was not a scam. They too offered me a holiday worth £5K for only £397.
I questioned them in detail and they seemed to have a valid reason for everything. When I could not access their website or landline afterwards, suspicions arose and I CANCELLED MY CARD IMMEDIATELY WITH MY PROVIDER. I urge you all to do the same, and encourage your providers to do the same so these awful scamsters dont get any money from your bank, even if you are covered yourself. They should be locked up for doing this.
As for Alice, you're obviously part of this and messed up in the head like the rest of them!
Is there any organisation we can officially report this too?
i just wasted 35 minutes on the telephone to onceinalifetimeholidays.com. I stupidly gave my credit card details (but not the security code) after they said they only had the details for the former owner of the house. I gave my D.O.B, card number, expiry date and address. They put the call through to 3 different people to verify my account details, one of which was apparently a 'legal verification dept' unassociated with them, to ensure it was not a scam. They too offered me a holiday worth £5K for only £397.
I questioned them in detail and they seemed to have a valid reason for everything. When I could not access their website or landline afterwards, suspicions arose and I CANCELLED MY CARD IMMEDIATELY WITH MY PROVIDER. I urge you all to do the same, and encourage your providers to do the same so these awful scamsters dont get any money from your bank, even if you are covered yourself. They should be locked up for doing this.
As for Alice, you're obviously part of this and messed up in the head like the rest of them!
Is there any organisation we can officially report this too?
- tasha1
- Posts: 0
- Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:53 am
Report it to enquiries@oft.gsi.gov.uk
and, as it is in Florida, to the Better Business Bureau
us.bbb.org/WWWRoot/SitePage.aspx?site=113&id=ab12ce37-3680-42cc-9817-df71ecfda32e
but state that you have not in fact dealt with them due to information received from elsewhere.
and, as it is in Florida, to the Better Business Bureau
us.bbb.org/WWWRoot/SitePage.aspx?site=113&id=ab12ce37-3680-42cc-9817-df71ecfda32e
but state that you have not in fact dealt with them due to information received from elsewhere.
- Fred 2
- Posts: 316
- Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 17:13 pm
Alice is based in Orlando, Florida.
Probably doesn't surprise you.
Thx Fred2.....again!
Probably doesn't surprise you.
Thx Fred2.....again!
-

HW iaintwoeyes - Posts: 209
- Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 19:20 pm
Hi there... My name is Luis from Australia. I just hang up the phone where the caller (with a heavy Indian accent) informed me that I was the "lucky" person chosen for a holiday in Cancun. He described a room with ocean view in a resort with all meals included for 6 days and 5 nights. He wanted to verify my address (which he already had from our phone number). Also asked if I had a PO Box. Then wanted my VISA card number so that his supervisor could produce a "Claim ID" on my name. He was VERY insistent on getting my card number and kept providing me with assurances that it was only a verification process as the winner needed to have a valid VISA or MASTERCARD. Of course, I politely refused to give him this and he finally gave up, not before offering me to go the website www.onceinalifetimeholiday.com and, if I was satisfied with the information given, to give them a call at a "free" number 001 213 537 1099. All the alarm bells were ringing with me, so I decided to do a bit of internet research and found this site. THANK YOU!
- cleargol
- Posts: 0
- Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 01:07 am
Anyone giving their credit card or bank account details to someone who cold calls them is being naive and foolish. No matter how enticing the product offered my be, don't be tempted.
I receive such calls fairly regularly, generally offering an investment deal, new mobile phone contract, or occasionally holiday offers, and the caller usually begins by saying "hello, is that Mr *****". I don't mind confirming my name, so reply "yes", at which they invariably say "how are you today. Most people I suspect, reply that "they are fine, thank you", but I launch into a spiel about being very ill, just received bad news, etc, etc. You can make up your own, and its quite fun really. This throws them, but if they continue, and ask for any more information, including even my age, postal, or email address, I just politely tell them that I never give personal information over the phone, say thank you, then put the phone down!
I receive such calls fairly regularly, generally offering an investment deal, new mobile phone contract, or occasionally holiday offers, and the caller usually begins by saying "hello, is that Mr *****". I don't mind confirming my name, so reply "yes", at which they invariably say "how are you today. Most people I suspect, reply that "they are fine, thank you", but I launch into a spiel about being very ill, just received bad news, etc, etc. You can make up your own, and its quite fun really. This throws them, but if they continue, and ask for any more information, including even my age, postal, or email address, I just politely tell them that I never give personal information over the phone, say thank you, then put the phone down!
- aramis
- Posts: 39
- Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 07:46 am
Yes I just recieved a call from the Indian people claiming they were in Orlando USA. Sounded like a phone room in India to me. I was also informed that I had won an all expenses paid holiday and to pay $599.00 to cover taxes and only 20% of the airfares for 4 people. They didnt even ask who was in my family. Again they wanted to varify who i was by getting credit card details. When I asked for a contact in Australia before i would give them any numbers, surprise surprise, they hung up. I was concerned about how much info they already had and that due to us being asked security questions by banks etc, it is a bit of a trap that you can inadvertently provide info ie date of birth etc. Thank god I refused any card info. They didnt even state the bank that they suposedly knew we banked with. My partner was concerned we would be charged for the call so i called our phone company who agreed to make a note of the details and if we were charged, would recredit our account. Nice of them. Also suggested we go on the do not call register.
I too think the one positive report is another Scam to cover their tracks. So sorry for those who trusted and gave bank details and sure glad i didnt. not sure who i trust now. I was even wary of joining this one but looks like it is doing a good service for travellers. Thanx guys.
cheers Ruby-dooby.
I too think the one positive report is another Scam to cover their tracks. So sorry for those who trusted and gave bank details and sure glad i didnt. not sure who i trust now. I was even wary of joining this one but looks like it is doing a good service for travellers. Thanx guys.
cheers Ruby-dooby.
- Ruby-dooby
- Posts: 0
- Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 07:53 am
Dear Moot
I am still waiting on the paperwork. Personally after reading what people have been saying i am going to ask for my money back.
I am still waiting on the paperwork. Personally after reading what people have been saying i am going to ask for my money back.
- gurdip
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 12:39 pm
Hmmmmm yeah same thing just minutes ago said his name was Alan desouze or something.... strange it sounds good but the fact that we gave a wrong card number was good because they tried to get money right away and failed and then he was getting angry so yeah a dead set FAKE.... it was a holiday to florida mexico and daytona.... yeah so i wouldnt go giving them anything and call your bank anyways just to be sure who knows where they get personal details from could be anywhere.....
- Benasi08
- Posts: 0
- Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 02:30 am
Return to Timeshare & Holiday Clubs
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests
