Seastar Holiday Properties

Won a free holiday? Suspicious? This is the place for you!

Seastar Holiday Properties

Postby Fred 2 on Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:54 am

This is a new "advance fee" merchant. Information from Timesharetalk.

Web site at www.seastarholidayproperties.com registered only a month ago. Anonymous registration - PO Box address in Spain - UK phone.

Poster on TST asked for information this evening as they wanted cash up-front. A post saying that they were OK was made only an hour after the original - by a member who had just registered (as"UK"). This was not pure chance - the new poster was in fact in Spain not the UK. Fake.

It also turns out that all the "Testimonials" on the site had been copied word for word from a legitimate USA site.

Seastar is to be avoided. Plausible but dishonest site.
Fred 2
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 6:13 pm

Seastar Holiday Properties

Postby zapgaia on Wed Aug 20, 2008 6:51 pm

Hi Fred I'm a newbie to this site but I am interested to find out about these sorts of companies as my mother owns a time share and she has been contacted by quite a few of them trying to buy it,
.
zapgaia
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 6:46 pm

Seastar Holiday Properties

Postby Fred 2 on Wed Aug 20, 2008 7:19 pm

The short answer is that she should never deal with anyone who cold-calls. However good they sound and however persuasive they are there is always a sting. The bottom line is - they want your money and they don't care how they get it. The chance of actually selling the timeshare is nil. Do not respond to ETOO adverts.

Check www.ote-info.com or www.timeshare.org.uk for recommended resellers- and realise that unless it is quite exceptional the price will be very low.

Two apparently new cold-caller companies have been identified only today. Neither is trustworthy. They seem to breed.
Fred 2
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 6:13 pm

Seastar Holiday Properties

Postby zapgaia on Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:22 pm

What would be the best way to find out who is trustworthy then?Somebody else even said ETOO was not to be trusted yet they advertise on national television.
zapgaia
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 6:46 pm

Seastar Holiday Properties

Postby Fred 2 on Mon Aug 25, 2008 3:11 pm

ETOO? Struth. Look at the ETOO and Club Class threads. They don't care who they scam.

Contact www.timeshare.org.uk and ask for advice or look at www.ote-info.com and find Members - resellers.
Fred 2
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 6:13 pm

Seastar Holiday Properties

Postby dumbo71 on Tue Sep 02, 2008 12:16 pm

I have just been cotacted by Seastar Holidays out of the blue. The man who called {by phone] was very plausible offering £4000 per week for three weeks. Through other sources I can't even get £1000 per week! I enquired if an up-front deposit would be needed which was confirmed at £1000. I said that I would not pay a deposit under any circumstances but he is most persistent an will not give up. I am expecting another call tomorrow after I have checked through all the blurb he offered. I shall be sticking to the golden rule - DO NOT PAY MONEY UP FRONT.
dumbo71
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:42 am

Re: Seastar Holiday Properties

Postby adav1672 on Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:45 pm

They are still trawling !!- was contacted by them this morning
adav1672
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:38 pm

Re: Seastar Holiday Properties

Postby BigMarc on Wed Oct 22, 2008 1:49 pm

thanks for all the info regarding seastar,i too have been offered a"genuine"offer on my time share in florida,they seem not to be fazed by the fact that i told them that i would be using a solicitor to manage the sale and transfer of ownership of my property,but have asked for a payment of nearly £1000 upfront to cover unexpected expences,my solicitor has advised me that this is certainly not acceptable as any further expenditure,could be met when the balance of the transaction is made,and could consequently be made by him,am looking forward to the phone call i'm expecting this afternoon from sea star...so who can we trust ?thius will be about the 4th time i've nearly been ripped off...anyone got the answaer ?...Big Marc Uk
BigMarc
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 1:35 pm

Re: Seastar Holiday Properties

Postby HW Jan.C on Wed Oct 22, 2008 3:40 pm

Do not trust ANYONE that asks for an up front payment for whatever reason.
Jan :)
HW JAN.
Antique Clocks :) restoration and sales
User avatar
HW Jan.C
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 1:00 pm

Re: Seastar Holiday Properties

Postby Fred 2 on Wed Oct 22, 2008 3:45 pm

The first part of the answer is the usual one - never pay money up front however good the spiel. If there was a genuine sale they would be able to recover agreed costs from the sale proceeds.

The second part is - check with http://www.timeshare.org.uk and http://www.ote-info.com for genuine resellers.
Fred 2
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 6:13 pm

Next

Return to Timeshare & Holiday Clubs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest