Cornbeef - read some of the other threads regarding trying to get your money back - which may be possible if you paid by credit card.
Report all Spanish scams to Consumer Protection in Madrid on
cec@consumo-inc.es
Starting Point Marketing
23 posts • Page 2 of 3 • 1, 2, 3
Yes we have had a couple of calls offering £14,500 for our week, saying they had a buyer, telling us we could check at companies house (they are not registered), they are listed on the ITRA website as a reputable company but they want 1200euros up front. I would steer clear, a shame though. I would love to hear if anyone has been successful in getting money though .
- sausages
- Posts: 0
- Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:55 am
Please be aware that ITRA is itself not a real supervisory body. It was set up mainly by ETOO so that it could give good references for them - no-one else would, let's face it. In fact - if a company is shown on their site or recommended by them that is a good reason to avoid them.
- Fred 2
- Posts: 316
- Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 17:13 pm
that's great Fred. I had a follow up call from someone saying they were from ITRA, saying Starting Point were very reputable, and were selling lots of timeshares in spain. When I told him my timeshare resort he had not heard of it!! nor had he heard of the area of Spain in which the resort is, but two minutes later said they were selling lots of properties in that area of Spain!!! Needless to say we will not be following this up and I advise everyone to avoid them. Also if you do get a cold call advcie the office of fair trading.
- sausages
- Posts: 0
- Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:55 am
Hi
i have been contacted by starting point and as many of you said, they are asking for €1200 up front. i have asked various questions about it and then asked them to e-mail me with details. they have actually sent an email with a telephone number for uk customer services - 0844 3137117. a guy called clive actually called me back after the email was sent to ask if i had decided yet. i don't think so. he did get quite annoyed at me because i told him that i needed to check them out first to make sure that this was no scam. this is what brought me to you guys. thank goodness i never parted with my money.
i have been contacted by starting point and as many of you said, they are asking for €1200 up front. i have asked various questions about it and then asked them to e-mail me with details. they have actually sent an email with a telephone number for uk customer services - 0844 3137117. a guy called clive actually called me back after the email was sent to ask if i had decided yet. i don't think so. he did get quite annoyed at me because i told him that i needed to check them out first to make sure that this was no scam. this is what brought me to you guys. thank goodness i never parted with my money.
- vader
- Posts: 0
- Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 15:07 pm
0844 numbers are for access to internet services so they can go anywhere.
- Fred 2
- Posts: 316
- Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 17:13 pm
I received a call from Starting Point on 08 Oct 08. Saying they have a buyer for our two wk timeshare. Even names and where they lived.
I told him that I wanted to see the paperwork 1st so he emailed it to me. Offering £7,500 per wk. I agree that it is to good to be true. Except for their website I can't find anyone who says they actually recieved the money. He says I expressed interest in Starting Point in August and I have never heard of it.
I told him that I wanted to see the paperwork 1st so he emailed it to me. Offering £7,500 per wk. I agree that it is to good to be true. Except for their website I can't find anyone who says they actually recieved the money. He says I expressed interest in Starting Point in August and I have never heard of it.
- nhill
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 12:05 pm
Oh, how we wish we had seen this forum two days ago,before we parted with 1200 euros to Steve Casey and Kay Lewis. It was only when we received a telephone call from our bank the next day, querying the transaction (£974.00) that we thought something might be wrong. We then tried the web to try & get details of Starting Point's real address, without success and cannot find a genuine telephone number. Thank you, Fred 2, for the explanation of the 0844 number. We intend to see our bank tomorrow (Monday) and see if anything can be done. If only we had read all your comments before, rather than after we had used our credit card, we would have been much smarter. We suppose there have still been no successful sales to date.
- Pricia
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 15:59 pm
I was contacted recently by Starting Point saying they had a buyer offering £2800 for my timeshare week - more than it is worth. Being suspicious I had a look into the internet and found this site. Thank goodness. When he called back he asked for a refundable deposit at which point I informed him that I was no longer interested and finished the call. Beware everyone.
- jmcleish
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 19:31 pm
I have been contacted today by starting point marketing saying they have a buyer for my timeshare in florida even going as far as saying that they have taken a deposit from the buyer,then they asked for my credit card details so they could take a retainer fee of 1200 euro's and when the sale was completed we would get this money back.i said i need time to think it over and asked them to call back tomorrow, giving me time to look into the company thank god i did after what i have read tonight i have had a lucky escape. I wonder if they will call me back tomorrow, if they do i will let you know the outcome.
- jmc12
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 22:41 pm
23 posts • Page 2 of 3 • 1, 2, 3
Return to Timeshare & Holiday Clubs
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests
