Starting Point Marketing
23 posts • Page 1 of 3 • 1, 2, 3
Has anyone heard of this company? They say we asked them to market our timeshare and have just phoned with an offer of £4500 (too good to be true!). Of course, they want 1200 Euros which will be recredited to our account after we receive the money from the buyer and they have received our paperwork. Another scam?!
- diamond22
- Posts: 0
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:02 am
far to be good to be even half true. Downright fraud.
Look here
www.timesharetalk.co.uk/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=9577
and this, posted by a legitmate resort operator
www.pearlygrey.info/owners-only/beware- ... g-scam.htm
Look here
www.timesharetalk.co.uk/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=9577
and this, posted by a legitmate resort operator
www.pearlygrey.info/owners-only/beware- ... g-scam.htm
- Fred 2
- Posts: 316
- Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 17:13 pm
diamond/extratime/startingpoint
I have had calls everyday from representatives of a company on the same phone no. calling themselves all of the above names. They offered me £8600 for my two weeks timeshare and said the boyer had already paid 30% upfront for them and I would receive the money in 5 weeks. As with your note I was asked for the amount quoted to be paid immediately and it would be refunded.
I have had calls everyday from representatives of a company on the same phone no. calling themselves all of the above names. They offered me £8600 for my two weeks timeshare and said the boyer had already paid 30% upfront for them and I would receive the money in 5 weeks. As with your note I was asked for the amount quoted to be paid immediately and it would be refunded.
- quickstep
- Posts: 0
- Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 12:14 pm
Just contacted again by these fraudsters, this after weeks of HCS and Realescape calls. Explained again why I would'nt be prepared to pay anything upfront, the guy shouted that he would get someone else to call me later and then cut me off.
- DG
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 20:03 pm
Hi
I have just had a phone call from Starting Point Marketing saying they could offer me £10 per point (sounds too good to be true to me) also saying they would need £1200 euros retainer payable back on completion of sale. Does anybody out there know if any deal has actually gone through. I hate the idea of putting money (up front) with no real guarantees.
J Frost
I have just had a phone call from Starting Point Marketing saying they could offer me £10 per point (sounds too good to be true to me) also saying they would need £1200 euros retainer payable back on completion of sale. Does anybody out there know if any deal has actually gone through. I hate the idea of putting money (up front) with no real guarantees.
J Frost
- fairy123
- Posts: 0
- Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 14:26 pm
If anyone as had these issues, i recommed that you contact your credit card company or bank for help! I recently got scammed by Starting Point Marketing (i know, call me stupid), but had paid the 1200 Euros on my credit card! If you have paid with your credit card you are much more likely to get some, if not all of your money back!!!
- bigbiglad
- Posts: 0
- Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 13:12 pm
I have been scammed by startpoint markerting, like a fool i paid 1200 euros up front not thinking. I was told that if i decided not to go ahead i would get this money back. Guess what we decided not to go ahead and since been told that i will not get my money back. What a bunch of conmen/women. My advice steer well clear.
- sal48
- Posts: 0
- Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 13:31 pm
Hi, I was contacted by starting point, who said they had a buyer for my timeshare and that they had put down a deposit,For the deal to go through I had to pay a transfer of ownership fee of 1200 euro's which would be refunded after sale was finalised. phoned me three weeks later to say the buyer could not raise the money.then they said I would be contacted by a firm called business marketing who said they had a buyer but I had to go spain to sign over the paper work. Guess what they only wanted me to give them my timeshare certificate but also £4,000 which would be put in a trust for 5years,then after 5years you might get £8000 back (I dont think so) so in effect they tried to catch me twice.Is there anyone out there who knows of any way of getting the money back,or as anyone contacted the law about these people. THANKS
- cornbeef77
- Posts: 0
- Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 18:41 pm
23 posts • Page 1 of 3 • 1, 2, 3
Return to Timeshare & Holiday Clubs
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests
