Sunterra


Won a free holiday? Suspicious? This is the place for you!

Postby Phil_H on Wed May 25, 2005 10:24 am

Hello all

We have just come back from a week in Tenerife with Thomson.

We didn't go on a "Free Blanket Trip" :D

So we went on a Sunterra trip instead. :confused:

We are now home and I joined here mainly to check them out but there is not much in the way of new info.

So if anyone would care to help me to decide whether or not to join please feel free or post any links.

Thanks Phil_H
Phil_H
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 09:53 am

Postby aviss on Thu May 26, 2005 08:42 am

"Hello all

We have just come back from a week in Tenerife with Thomson.

We didn't go on a "Free Blanket Trip" :D

So we went on a Sunterra trip instead. :confused:
" --- Phil_H


Presume you were being sold Sunterra points.
We and many thousands of others are very happy Sunterra points holders, it is a form of timeshare but is more flexible.

It is not however suitable for everybody, it depends on your needs and situation ie do you have to take school holidays/are you flexible on timing/where do you like to go etc. There are a small number of unhappy members who say they were missold points due to what they were told by salespeople or franchise operators, and these people make the most noise.
The important thing is to READ THE PAPERWORK and not listen too much to the salesmen who are on commision.

For an independent view look at
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/sunterramembers/

and for the Sunterra site look at http://secure.sunterra.com/Europe/
aviss
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 08:36 am

Postby Phil_H on Mon May 30, 2005 09:39 am

Thanks to all those that replied.

But to sum up some peeps are happy and i'm glad for them and others are not happy, but i have decided to canel my TIMESHARE agreement.

Yes they never mentioned it is a timeshare.

They also mentioned that is is ABTA Bonded but again reading the small print Sunterra Travel LTD is ABTA Bonded but not Club Sunterra that owns it.

I looked at people selling on Ebay there wer not many if at all any takers and at a price of �2000 for 5000 points not good value when they are selling at �8000+

Also i checked the members website as per the link in the above post.

I couldn't check the availability of holidays unless i was already a member which was one of my concerns IE lack of availability.

At least with a travel agent if you can't get a holiday when you want it doesn't cost you a �400+ yearly fee.

BTW i had a very nice time at a Princess Hotel going with Thomson.

Phil_H
Phil_H
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 09:53 am

Postby aviss on Tue May 31, 2005 07:23 am

Your edit to my posting is not correct. You do not have to pay for the address I quoted ie http://groups.yahoo.com/group/sunterramembers/

You do have to pay for another Sunterra members site www.sunterra-members.co.uk which is run by the same person.

Note to editor - YOU SHOULD NOT ALLOW INCORRECT AMENDMENTS LIKE THIS
aviss
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 08:36 am

Postby HW Chris on Tue May 31, 2005 08:23 am

We have had links posted to the Yahooo Group site before. Although you are correct in saying that this 'site' is free. I have edited my note.

However, you don't have to look very closely to see that the Yahoo Group site is just a platform for pushing people towards registering on the other site and paying for the information.

The members website is so big now with over 50 megabytes of really useful information for all Sunterra Members I have had to make it a subscription site .

Most Internet Services Providers give you that much web space for nothing.

Sorry Aviss, not having a dig at you. If people what to see Sunterra resort reports and information a careful scan of the net using a couple of search engines should get you the same info for nowt.

Just my two penneth worth.
User avatar
HW Chris
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 12:00 pm

Postby tim1 on Mon Jun 06, 2005 15:48 pm

I have recieved a "free" holiday from Pegasus which i have now found out that it is on behalf of sunterra. We have to go to Oxford for a meeting and they will tell us more. Can anyone give us a rundown as it seems that it,s a timeshare company and is the "free" holiday actually free.
tim1
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 13:20 pm


Return to Timeshare & Holiday Clubs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests