The Travel Emporium


Won a free holiday? Suspicious? This is the place for you!

Postby Betty Boo on Tue May 06, 2008 21:44 pm

WARNING WARNING ....... Please read on

My family have been receiving calls from a so called 'Leisure Time Marketing' every hour of the day stating they only have a certain amount of time to take up their fantastic offer!!!!!! Dont fall for it please

THIS IS A SCAM, there is no such company and the smiley happy operator at the end of the phone seems to good to be true, suprise suprise they are !!!!!!!

Once you give out your details eg. Credit card details you have authorised this so there is not much you can do and your bank/credit card company can do.

Tell the person on the other end of the phone this is harrassment and not to phone again.

The offer is too good to be true? It will never happen

DO NOT SIGN UP HANG UP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hope this helps
Betty Boo
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 21:24 pm

Postby Fred 2 on Tue May 06, 2008 22:28 pm

Lesure Time Marketing leisuretimemarketing.net were registered only in March of this year. They appear to have the grand total of eight properties for sale. No address, phone number on the site. They could be in any country - but are most probably British and in Spain.

Quite definitely one to avoid.
Fred 2
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 17:13 pm

Postby chicksrock on Sat May 10, 2008 02:02 am

Hi everyone ! Thank heavens I found this sit today.
I joined The Travel Emporium in 2005 for �400 ish. I too have been asked to sell my membership over the last few days by a girl called Gemma Fernandez and I've also spoke to a bloke called John Diamond.
Like all you, I've been offered �6000 but they want to 'move quick' as they don't want to lose their client, who is supposedly after half a dozen memberships for their corporate clints.
I was first contacted about selling my membership in January when my credit card expired and they wanted a payment for the years membership. A lady with a 'geordie' accent was my contact and she suggested selling. She said it would take about 3 months and I could get �3000. I checked my dates as I recorded our conversation in my diary, and the call from this Gemma girl came just 9 days after 3 months, which seems too coincidentally close to their original timescale estimation, plus also the �6000 offer was twice the original estimated receiving price, which would make anyone take notice. I too was asked to pay 16 % of the �6000 which I would get back. John Diamond called again today asking what I wanted to do, and I said I wanted the weekend to check Leisure Time Marketing out, and he suggested I get advice from The Travel Emporium, what a surprise. The Travel Emporium did tell me after I asked them about LTM that, quote, "They were ONE of the companies they had contacted about selling my membership to, but couldn't advise me other than that".
John Diamond is supposed to be calling me on Monday 12th May 2008 in the afternoon to see if I want to sell.
Should be interesting.
chicksrock
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 01:40 am

Postby aramis on Sat May 10, 2008 06:20 am

'Travel Emporium' is listed on Timeshare Council's Blacklist at http://www.timesharecouncil.eu. 'Leisure Time Marketing' aren't yet listed, but similar names such as Leisure Marketing International, Leisure Time Breaks, Leisure Time Passport, etc, are listed.
I'm pretty sure Leisure Time Marketing will soon join this list.
aramis
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 07:46 am

Postby yeslah on Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:24 am

I am a member of Travel Emporium, although not a lifetime member. They rang me a couple of years ago and offered me two holidays for �130!! Sounded great so signed up. Took us a while to be able to match up dates we could do and they could fill, but spent Easter at Las Marismas, Corralejo, Fuerteventura. It was fab. Met so many other people who had paid a fortune and all we paid was our flights. The only stipulation was that we had to go to a presentation. The guy doing that came and picked us and the kids up, took us for a coffee and had a half hour chat in which time it was established that it wasn't something we could afford, and so he paid the bill nad drove us back to the apartments! Couldn't have been easier really. I have recently had a letter saying they have been taken over (can't remember who by) and that they want us to sell our membership. As we are not lifetime members not sure where I stand, haven't got round to ringing them in Spain yet. Think I will e-mail the contact I have. Anyway, we weren't conned and had a great time. Can't say fairer than a weeks holiday for �65 plus flights!!!
yeslah
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:24 am

Postby sinfield on Fri Jul 18, 2008 13:05 pm

Hi, I paid �130 one year ago for three one week holidays with the travel emporium. I went with my family to Malta at Easter and had a great time with no problems except that I had to attend a time share presentation when I had been told categorically that they were not a time share company. I queried this when I got home and was told that there had been a mistake and this would not happen on the next two holidays. I have now heard from a company called Essential Travel Club saying that they have bought out the travel emporium and I am now a life member and still entitled to another two free holidays. All seems o.k. and above board at the moment. Ann. Norwich.
sinfield
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 13:05 pm

Postby Fred 2 on Fri Jul 18, 2008 13:43 pm

Essential Travel Club appear to be Travel Emporium - rather than having bought them.
www.essentialtravelclub.com/Index.htm
site registered in the name "The Travel Emporium" in May of this year. Same PO Box address in Malaga.
Just a convenient change of name and a smarter site it would seem.
Fred 2
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 17:13 pm

Postby caldey on Thu Aug 14, 2008 17:39 pm

Hello All,

Sorry I come upon this site whilst doing a search on my own website travel emporium. Please can I stress I have nothing to do with the Travel Emporium you are talking about, apparently as I am finding out there are many website with this same name, but ending in different variables .net, .com etc My website is links to offical travel sights such as monarch, emirates etc and is to save time for doing your own searches whilst also providing information about each company as well as monthly information on travel hotspots.

Please let me stress I do not as for any contact details or card no´s the choice is yours as to whether you book via this site or not.

Having read many of the accounts in this column, all I would say to people is there is nothing free in this world if it sounds too good a deal or is supposedly free then it usually is a con. There are plenty of scams out there to get you to give over your hard earned cash with false promises.

Regards
Tracy
caldey
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 17:39 pm

Postby tigerlilley on Thu Sep 11, 2008 15:52 pm

well its 2008 and all i can say to everyone the travel emporium is a complete scam fortuantley we got a cple of free holidays b4 we told them to stick it but but todate we have been approached to sell our membership for£6500 and guess what the company want 800 euros up front i dont think so
tigerlilley
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 15:52 pm

Postby tigerlilley on Thu Sep 11, 2008 16:00 pm

reading on thru the forum leasure time marketing does not exsit welll it does in the office of travel emporium in spain so dont be fooled
tigerlilley
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 15:52 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Timeshare & Holiday Clubs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests