makemyholiday.net


Won a free holiday? Suspicious? This is the place for you!

Postby Gagsy on Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:18 am

Hi

I had a call from the above company offering me 2 weeks for £80. All I have to do is sit in a meeting at the resort for 90 minutes. I have heard of this before and I know there are some honest companies out there but it all sounds too good to be true.
HAs anyone heard of them or shall I run a mile?
Gagsy
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:16 am

Postby HW Jan.C on Tue Sep 23, 2008 11:04 am

Start running hun :(
jan x
HW JAN
User avatar
HW Jan.C
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 12:00 pm

Postby Gagsy on Tue Sep 23, 2008 11:09 am

Thought so - can't find any reviews online from anyone - which is very odd!

Cheers
Gagsy
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:16 am

Postby HW Selina on Tue Sep 23, 2008 11:34 am

Looks like they may just have registered as a company in June this year.
HW Selina
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00 am

Postby Gagsy on Tue Sep 23, 2008 11:39 am

Wow - even scarier
Gagsy
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:16 am

Postby Fred 2 on Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:22 pm

It's not even a real web site yet, just a random name which has been parked. The registrant (in Gibraltar) seems to specialise in cybersquatting - beating legitimate owners of trade and company names to register them first.
Fred 2
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 17:13 pm

Postby Gagsy on Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:30 pm

You guys are good - they are calling me back on Thursday so I will give them hell!!!!
Gagsy
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:16 am

Postby Fred 2 on Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:58 pm

Were you in fact contacted by www.makemyholidays.net - just one letter different. It actually seems more likely as it really exists - even though the site itself refers to 'problems contacting them by phone', so perhaps it is all an Indian call-centre!

Fly/ buy, registered May 08, and appearing to cover UK Australia and NZ. It is India registered and clearly related to this one www.mhril.com/aboutus.asp
because of some of the phrases used are the same.

Definitely a new one on the block - and I still wouldn't touch it.
Fred 2
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 17:13 pm

Postby Gagsy on Tue Sep 23, 2008 13:10 pm

That sounds right - it was an asian lady who said she was calling from London but the delay was obvious. As long as other people don't fall for it - she put up a good resistance to my questions. Thanks again
Gagsy
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:16 am

Postby ilovehols on Tue Sep 23, 2008 17:07 pm

As they sya if it sounds too good to be true it probabley is!!
ilovehols
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 16:02 pm

Next

Return to Timeshare & Holiday Clubs



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests